DRAFT

Town of Newbury Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plan

INDEX

- 1. Introduction
- 2. Department of Public Works Headquarters
 - a) Facility Map
 - b) Description of Existing Conditions and Staffing
 - c) Discussion of Potential Pollution Vulnerabilities
 - d) Summary of Potential Pollution Control Measures
- 3. Solid Waste Transfer Station
 - a) Facility Map
 - b) Description of Existing Conditions and Staffing
 - c) Discussion of Potential Pollution Control Vulnerabilities
 - d) Summary of Potential Pollution Control Measures

Introduction

This plan is required by Section 2.3.7.6 although they are not located in, nor do they discharge to the MS4 area, it was decided that a SWPPP should be prepared for the DPW Headquarters Facility and the Solid Waste Transfer Station. Both have potential for storm water pollution of the Great Marsh. This marsh extends from Essex, MA to North of Hampton, NH, and is on of the most significant salt marsh resource areas on the US East Coast. The affected sections of the march abut Little River (Transfer Station) and Plum Island River, (DPW), both of which are impaired for pathogens.

The Fire Chief, Mr. Douglas Janvrin, is responsible for any response, clean up, and notifications regarding spills of pollutants. Such procedures are outlined in Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The reader of this plan is referred to this document.

Department of Public Works

Description of Existing Conditions and Staffing

The Newbury Department of Public Works Headquarters Facility is centrally located on US Route 1A. Stormwater runoff form this facility flows to an abandoned gravel pit with no surface outlet to the salt marsh located approximately—yards away from this marsh. There are however, a number of domestic potable water wells close to this body of water. No fertilizers, herbicides, or pesticides are stored in this facility. The primary sources of stormwater pollution are:

- a) Dissolved sodium chloride from the truck loading operations at the main doors of the salt shed
- b) Potential spillage and leakage from the diesel fuel dispensing facility
- c) Spillage of waste lube oil from with the garage

Any other potential pollutants are stored only in household quantities at the DPW facility is mostly paved with bituminous concrete.

The Pollution Prevention Team for the DPW Headquarters consists of the following Town employees:

James Sarette Director of Public Works

Douglas Janvrin (Chairman) Fire Chief

Deborah Rogers Board of Health Agent

Bill Holt Conversation Commission Agent

Solid Waste Transfer Station

Description of Existing Conditions and Staffing

This facility is under the control of the Town of Newbury Board of Health. The operation of the Transfer Station has been contracted to G. Mello Disposal Corp. Mello maintains an office trailer on the site, which is manned by a Mello employee.

The Transfer Station and DPW boneyard occupy approximately square feet of space uphill from Little River. Some of the stormwater runoff flows northward to a detention pond on the side of Boston Road. The balance of the runoff runs off overland toward the South (adjacent to the Little River) and to the West (adjacent to the Town Forest). The Town's capped landfill lies to the East, where the terrain is higher in elevation than the Transfer Station. The Transfer Station is mostly paved with bituminous concrete.

Traffic flow starts at the bins, where recyclable items such as plastic cans, paper, etc. are thrown into bins by the patrons. After paying the dump fee at the trailer, the patrons drive around to the compactor, where the unsorted trash is dumped, and they exit Transfer Station onto Boston Road. The trailer is manned by the Transfer Station manager, an employee of G. Mello Disposable.

The bins for recyclable materials are located under a canopy, and are leak-proof. The compactor is also leak proof. When any sign of leakage is noted, the unit is repaired.

The Transfer Station manager polices the facility at closing time, and picks up any loose trash or recyclables.

The Pollution Prevention Team for the Solid Waste Transfer Station consists of the following personnel.

Stephen Fram
Douglas Janvrin (Chairman)
Deborah Rogers
Bill Holt

Chairman, Board of Health
Fire Chief
Board of Health Agent
Conservation Commission Agent