TOWN OF NEWBURY SELECT BOARD

EXECUTIVE SESSION MINUTES

 DATE:
 January 10, 2024

 PRESENT:
 SELECT BOARD:

 Alicia Greco, Chair; William DiMaio, Vice Chair; Leslie Matthews, Clerk; Dana

 Packer

 STAFF:

 David Evans, Fire Chief

 Martha Taylor, Planning Director

 ABSENT:
 SELECTBOARD:

 Geoffrey Walker

EXECUTIVE SESSION:

Motion: At 8:40 p.m. a motion was made by A. Greco and seconded by W. DiMaio to enter into Executive Session pursuant to Open Meeting Law (Chapter 30A, Section 21(a)(3)) to discuss strategy with respect to collective bargaining if an open meeting may have a detrimental effect on the bargaining position of the public body and the Chair so declares (Fire Union).

A roll call vote was taken:

Leslie Matthews – Yes William DiMaio – Yes Dana Packer – Yes Alicia Greco – Yes

A. Greco announced that the meeting would not reconvene at the conclusion of the Executive Session.

Fire Chief Evans presented his request for approval of an amendment to the Fire Union's current Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) through June 30, 2024, to allow for a revised shift schedule consisting of two 12-hour shifts per day for two groups, Group 1 and Group 2, on an eight (8) day schedule, with four days on and four days off for each Group. He noted that the Fire Department had instituted this new schedule as a pilot program starting on December 3, 2023, and that so far it had been very successful. If this new schedule continues to be successful, his hope is that this will become part of the new contract. The Fire Union has signed off on it.

A brief discussion between the Board and Chief Evans followed. The Chief noted several benefits that are already apparent since this new schedule has been in place.

Motion: A motion was made by L. Matthews and seconded by W. DiMaio to approve and sign the requested amendment to the CBA.

A roll call vote was taken:

Dana Packer – Yes William DiMaio – Yes Leslie Matthews – Yes Alicia Greco - Yes

Motion: At 9:00 p.m. a motion was made by W. DiMaio and seconded by D. Packer to close the Executive Session.

A roll call vote was taken:

Leslie Matthews – Yes William DiMaio – Yes Dana Packer – Yes Alicia Greco – Yes

Motion: A motion was made by W. DiMaio and seconded by L. Matthews to adjourn the Select Board meeting. All voted in favor.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:01 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Martha Taylor Planning Director